investvilla.blogg.se

Nixie clock mini din
Nixie clock mini din





nixie clock mini din

It's also monitoring 4 capacitive sensors acting like buttons to put the clock in various modes. It's reading time from a DS3231 RTC clock through I2C.

Nixie clock mini din pro#

As I said, the binary data is fed to the shift register thanks to an arduino pro mini. Those enable the tubes to be driven by only 3 arduino pins. Each K155ND1 receives 4 bits thanks to 2 SN74HC595N 8 bits shift registers in series. They are driven by K155ND1 high voltage binary to decimal converters which are in charge of grounding the tube cathode corresponding to the binary input. The clock is based around 4 IN-12b nixie tubes purchased from Ukraine just before the war. What Nixie Tubes have you used in your project? To light a digit, its associated cathode is grounded enabling a little current (~2mA) to flow creating cold gas discharges. Usually, the anode is connected to around 170v through a current limiting resistor. These tubes are based around cold gas discharge, the same working principle as neon signs. Each tube is composed of a common anode made from a fine mesh, behind it are 10 cathodes each having the shape of a number. For our readers who are not familiar with them, please explain how they work. There’s certainly something mesmerising about Nixie tubes. At first I was going to do one of those word clocks where the time is shown by lighting up some LEDs behind letters but the nixie tube idea seemed better to me. The clock idea came from a need as I lacked one at my place in my school. After Christmas when the weather was bad in Paris and motivation was on the low side, I started to look around the internet to start a new project to regain a bit of motivation and found some nixie tubes which were at a good price. When I discovered nixie tubes, I was really amazed by the way they looked. What motivated you to make your Nixie Tube Clock project? Sounds like a fun way to get the family to the dinner tables. I started electronics with an arduino starter kit when I was about 14 and since then I've made various projects from a kitchen bell system which plays an 8-bit music in every room to call for dinner to various lamps and freeforms including my last one, a nixie clock! Growing up I started to disassemble my toys to understand how they were made and reuse their components. As a kid I was building stuff out of everything I could. I've always loved to make things, to tinker. My name is Robin Gorius, I'm an 18 years old student from France currently starting studies in engineering. Tell our readers about yourself and what got you into electronics? We got in touch with Robin to find out more. He then went next level by using freeform electronics for an artistic look. After sourcing some from Ukraine, Robin got to work on building an Arduino driven clock. Combining nixie tubes, Arduino and freeform electronics to build a timepiece that looks amazing.Ĭurious maker and engineering student, Robin Gorius, wanted to make a project using nixie tubes.







Nixie clock mini din